Prison blew. It sucked. It sucked and it blew, and regardless of the strangeness of that construction, it was true. That wasn't saying much, of course, but it was a prison - that was its intrinsic qualities. Some little prison in Norway, run by the fucking government. It was like an old folk's home, but you could never leave. Also you weren't old. And it wasn't really that much like an old folk's home, now that he thought about it.

The young man, an American by birth, an ideologue by upbringing and a revolutionary by trade, had come to Norway only a few months earlier, fleeing the United States. Following Congress's passing of a series of laws reminiscent of the Smith Act, the Alien and Sedition Acts, and their ilk, he'd run as far and as fast as he could. He'd briefly considered other nations, but Norway wound up being where the vagaries of chance landed him.

And now he was in prison. Good choice, he thought to himself silently.

"What're you in for?" One of the other men there asked him.

"Politics." No more words escaped his lips.

The other man had nodded and let it slide. If the newcomer with the funny American accent didn't want to explain himself more than that, that was his business.

That was a lie. Well - that wasn't quite fair. It was a half-truth. Politics had defined his life, but it wasn't as though he'd been arrested for his political beliefs. He mused that it was trivial to avoid arresting people for their political beliefs, though - by the nature of the law, no one obeys it all the time. In a sense, then, all arrests were political - the selection of some criminals to the exclusion of others, on the basis of expedience. And expedience is, after all, the heart of all politics.

But then again, mugging a police officer hadn't been his greatest plan for eternal liberty.